National Conservancy Conferences & Awards


NACSSA Conservancy Conference & AGM
Magaliesberg November 2011

Presentations and feedback from the Provinces

Program (364 KB)

Alternative Energy (860 KB)

Bats and Conservancies (Contact Office for CD)

Environmental Impact Assessment and Management (1.57 MB)

KlipSA (3.97 MB)

Rhenoterspruit Intoduction (2.86 MB)

Francolin Conservancy (6.26 MB)

Ethekwini Urban Conservancies Report (768 KB)

Gauteng Conservancy and Stewardship Association (2.02 MB)

KwaZulu Natal Conservancy Association (1.10 MB)

Northwest Conservancy and Stewardship Association (2.16 M)

Please note the above files are in PDF and may take a long time to download


Photo Gallery's%20Nov%2011_small.JPG


NACSSA Awards 2011

The NACSSA award is given to Non members of NACSSA who have promoted Community Conservation and helped NACSSA to achieve our goals


No award was made this year


The NACSSA Chairman’s Award is given to members of NACSSA who have shown outstanding commitment and service to NACSSA


Joan Du Toit

For her dedication to environmental conservation for more than 30 years.  Her enthusiasm for Conservation is infectious and her positive influence on others to share her viewpoint admirable.  Joan is knowledgeable about environmental legislation and works closely with local authorities to watch over incidents that might be detrimental to conservation in her Conservancy and in the conservancies of Northern Gauteng for which she assumed responsibility over the last few years

Joan Du Toit, Cullinan Conservancy, and NACSSA Chairman John Wesson


Hugh Roberts

In recognition and appreciation for his lifelong commitment to the Conservation of the Magaliesberg and especially the support furthering the aims of the Conservancy movement

Ian Ashmole receiving the award on his behalf from NACSSA Chairman John Wesson

Hugh Roberts receiving his award from John Wesson at the Magaliesberg Protection Association meeting


Dear John,

A quick message to thank you for making me the recipient of an award. And to place on record that from childhood I have known it to be a privilege to live a life amongst a myriad life forms, which to you would be nothing new. And that this interest has taken me to many places and to be able to study and at times record plants and creatures in their habitats and niches, ecosystems and environments all within the fascinating all important physical Environment itself.

This is the story of so many of our kind of people and is a facet of a much broader picture, just as by living in and against this amazing rim of the equally amazing

Witwatersrand Complex basin, which is the Magaliesberg range, which through the years I have viewed with growing concern the never-ending pressures and selfish demands that people are making upon this precious mountain range. 

Your concern and continual encouragement a vital ingredient in sustaining not only the same our kind of people but also making the enjoyment of and the awareness to a much wider public of the need to preserve and protect this wonderful resource.

So it is that the giving of an award symbolizes recognition of all such people who soldier on, and more especially during these worrying times, and a sharing, encouraging and stimulating not only to one recipient but all who are involved in this worthwhile and necessary life’s work.  So on behalf of all of us let me say thank you John.

For all your hard work for something so worthwhile may you be well rewarded.

(Of course the converse is often stated as - No good turn goes unpunished!!) Don't you believe it.

Most Sincerely,

Hugh Roberts.




Aardvark Provincial Award 2011

Award for best Performing Province

Sculpture by artist Steven Rici

This kind of initiative has an important impact as an incentive to the provincial civil society groups facilitating and leveraging land owner investment into biodiversity conservation. Each and every Province has done outstanding work to promote community conservation in South Africa, leading to more focus on biodiversity.

John Wesson Chairman of NACSSA handed the awards to the winning provinces at the NACSSA AGM held in November 2011 in Magaliesberg

Gold: Gauteng Conservancy & Stewardship Association

Joan du Toit with John Wesson


Silver: KwaZulu Natal Conservancy Association


Ian Ashmole with John Wesson


Bronze: Gauteng Conservancy and Stewardship Association


Malcolm Stainbank with John Wesson














       Web design by EVPdesigns